Life in the UK

I promised that I would start a blog back when I arrived in 2009 but life got busy with new immigrant stuff. Like, trying to find a job and navigating the aisles of Tesco to find common household items and figuring out how to order a sandwich without mayo and dealing with sideways rain, etc. You get the picture. Then life kept on happening and now here I am two years later finally doing my part to keep my mom and grandmother involved in my life in the UK.

Speaking of ‘Life in the UK’ I booked my test for 9 February 2012. This is a required test for all residents of the UK hoping to gain permanent residency or ‘indefinite leave to remain’. The test itself isn’t difficult but outcome of not passing is severe – no visa renewal. Of course I can re-sit the exam but that’s another £50. It’s a similar feeling to the Californian high school exit exam. I knew I could pass it, but the importance of the test meant that I had to pass it and that was the intimidating part. Pass this test or we’re keeping you in high school and you could be a 22 year old senior. Now it’s pass this test or leave the country. I have an even more important reason that I should be fine on this exam and that is my major in British history. My major in modern British history. My thesis topic.

.

The pressure is on and tomorrow’s plans are sorted.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

