Working 2 to 10, what a way to make a living

Since I know no one is reading this blog (haven’t told anyone about it yet) it really doesn’t matter if I forget to update for two weeks!

My absence is due to my new job. I started on February 13 and have been covering the US shift for the first three weeks of my contract. It’s 2 pm to 10 pm which is a nice change from my previous hours of 8 am to 6 pm and I get to sleep in! I go back to a normal 9 to 5 on Monday. Will nice in some ways but I’ve also really enjoyed the benefits of a late shift  – being able to watch daytime TV and the aforementioned sleeping in of course.

It has been hard to get into a schedule since I know this is just a temporary position. Also, Danny’s been working overtime every night so both our schedules are out of whack. I’ve been eating grocery store sandwiches and crisps for dinner or coming home at 10 and eating a huge meal. Then in the morning I sleep in and eat a small breakfast and a rushed lunch before leaving to catch my train at 1:30. I’m hoping to get into more of a routine once I work the 9 to 5. I’ll be able to cook again! I cooked and baked a lot during my time off work and I have so many recipe ideas that I want to try out and didn’t have a chance before I started working again. And as much I as love staying up late, it’ll be good to get back into a more normal schedule and feel like I’m part of the normal working world.

However for tomorrow I am truly embracing my alternative schedule. I have a couple of parties in the next few weeks and I’ve decided that I need new dresses for all of them. One party may involve a day trip to the Ayr horse races then straight on to an engagement party in the city centre. Going to see what’s new in the shops that will fit the bill!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

